NT 7

This is it! I have learned so much in the weeks that I have been studying the 4 Gospels. While the class may be coming to an end, I know I have so much more to learn from the scriptures and I’m excited to be able to continue learning and maturing and coming closer to Christ as I continue to study diligently.

This week we studied Matthew 28; Mark 16; Luke 24; John 20-21. A few of the sections that stuck out to me are listed below.

  1. Pilate was given multiple warnings and chances to choose the right. We are never given only one warning. Luke 23
  2. Jesus had an immense love and respect for women. John 20:16
  3. Repetition of 3x asking and repeating to feed His lambs showed how important it is to Jesus that we sacrifice for others. John 21:15

This week I was able to focus on obedience, like when Peter was asked to feed His sheep. He is asked to do this three separate times, so it has to be important. Unfortunately, the disciples didn’t catch on to that importance and returned to fishing once Christ was gone. Christ of course does not want them to do this but to share His gospel with everyone. We too can be like Peter, we know we are supposed to do something and we fall back and start doing the thing we are comfortable doing. We have to get out of our comfort zones and do what Christ would have us do.

Throughout all of the New Testament, we can see examples of the love Jesus has for women. My favorite is here where he would have preferred the women sit and listen to His teaching than clean. This certainly was far from the normal at the time and helps me to set my priorities not to how society would like me to look or appear, but to how Christ would like me to be.

This is a good perspective to look at. I’m sure quite a bit of it comes from cultural differences and personal differences between the apostles. I have commandments that I am more willing to accept and then others where I need a little more prayer and to change my perspective in order to accept. Each person has a weakness.

Leave a Reply

