NT Week 5

This week we were able to study Matthew 21-22; Mark 11-12; Luke 19-20; John 12; Matthew 23-24; Mark 13; Luke 21; JST Matt.

There were a few principles that really stood out to me in this reading that I was able to ponder through the week.

  1. By cleansing the temple, Jesus was showing that sin is not acceptable in any location, but is even certain things acceptable to the world should never be done in His house. Mark 11: 15-18
  2. Jesus was the master of words. While others tried to trick him in his words, he was able to speak clearly exactly. Mark 12: 13-15
  3. When we give all that we can, without comparing it to others, we are blessed accordingly. Mark 12: 41-44

I want to expound more on my thoughts about the Widow’s Mite, which is a more popular parable but one of my favorites.

The story of the Widow’s Mite is always one that hits close to home with me. It has a message that reaches me and gives me great comfort. The widow did not have a lot to give, but she gave all she could. Others had more to give, and gave willingly but it was nothing compared to the sacrifice the widow made. We too can realize that even though we are on different levels of spirituality as others, when we give all we can, we are doing enough. We shouldn’t punish ourselves for being on a different level than our neighbor.

Before, I didn’t read into this parable based on what was happening in the world at this time and knowing about the history makes a difference. I am grateful that the gospel was brought back today and that I am lucky enough to be born in the time that it was restored in. While it was rejected by the Pharisees and Saduccees, taken from the earth and changed to fit the doctrine of man, we are still so loved by Him that it has been brought back for us. We are the nation bringing forth the fruits thereof.

The account from General Conference was something I needed to hear. I loved that it reflected back to serving a mission. The Priesthood has a slightly different meaning to me as a woman, and I’m grateful for the perspective. I need the priesthood in my life and am able to encourage the men around me to use their Priesthood to fulfil callings and lift up others around them. I am able to be blessed continually by it through the sacrament, receiving blessings, and each time I go to the temple.

Leave a Reply

